The Board of Governors at UPES constitutes eminent academicians, industry doyens, government representatives, and academic administrators and is the highest regulatory and decision-making body responsible for laying down policies, statutes and rules as well as approving the budget and annual report.


The Board of Governors comprises:

  • Chairman


    Dr. S. J. Chopra
    University of Petroleum & Energy Studies(UPES)

  • Nominee of the Government of Uttarakhand


    Principal Secretary /Secretary (Higher Education)
    Government of Uttarakhand
    Presently Mr. S. Ramaswamy is the
    Principal Secretary, Higher Education

  • Member Secretary


    Dr Deependra Kumar Jha
    Vice Chancellor
    University of Petroleum & Energy Studies(UPES)



  • Mr. Sharad Mehra


  • Mr. Deepak Seth

    Group Chairman,

    Pearl Global Industries PDS Multinational Ltd


  • Mr. Rajat Mukherjee

    Partner, Merger and Acquisition
    Practice Group, Khaitan & Co. Law Firm

  • Vacant (CFO Designate)


  • Dr. Arun Nigavekar

    Former Chairman

  • Prof. Surendra Prasad

    Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engg.
    Indian Institute of Technology Delhi & Former
    Director, IITD

  • Ms. Nishi Vasudeva

    Former CMD

  • Shri. Arun Balakrishnan

    Former CMD

  • Shri. S.Y. Siddiqui

    Chief Mentor
    Maruti Suzuki India Ltd

  • Sh. Davinder Sandhu

    Former Executive Director

  • Shri. J.K. Batish

    Former Chief Hydrologist
    Dept. of Agriculture,Haryana

  • Shri K.M. Sahni, IAS (Retd)

    Former Secretary to GoI